A distinction can be made between two types of capacity. Innate capacities and learnable capacities. One of the most commonly measured capacities is intelligence. Also referred to as cognitive capacities. Cognitive capacities can partly be learned.

Innate capacities

Firstly, there are capacities that you have from birth and which in principle can’t be changed. These innate capacities can’t be learned. Consider in this regard spatial awareness, sense of smell or musicality.

Learnable capacities

Capacities that are learnable are also referred to as knowledge. Capacities that are learnable and pertain to an activity are skills.

Cognitive capacities

One of the most commonly measured capacities is intelligence. Intelligence is referred to as a cognitive capacity and is measured by means of an IQ test. Not everyone defines intelligence in exactly the same way. If you were to consider your vocabulary and general knowledge to be a form of intelligence, then you’d be thinking about learnable things which are more in the realm of knowledge. If, on the other hand, you’d regard someone with a special (innate) ability to learn languages or mathematics as highly intelligent then, as such abilities are innate, they would be classed as innate capacities. You can test your IQ with the IQ test from 123test. Your IQ will be compared with that of the World’s working population.

Training for a cognitive capacity test

Can you train for a cognitive capacity test? Sure. Albeit only to a certain extent. Cognitive capacity tests often contain elements such as number series and syllogisms. Practising these will make you increasingly better at them. But there’s a limit to this. Not everyone can achieve a score of 140 points or more on an IQ test. This is partly determined by your innate capacities.

Read more on motives.